A new baby blanket

boyblanket3

The Cabbage patch seems full of baby boys at the moment. Do you ever feel like one sex is being born way more then the other. I remember when I had B there was only 1 little girl in our mothers group the rest were all boys and when I had Little Princess all my friends who were having babies were having girls too. Now it seems to have flipped back to boys and I was asked to make a special blanket for someone’s new little nephew. I was given free reign on the design but was asked if it could be similiar colours to the last baby boy blanket I made.

boy blanket2I choose to go with a pattern this time as I was on a bit of a short time frame. The block I choose is from Jan Eatons 200 Crochet Blocks  and the pattern is the Criss Cross  and it works so well in a big blanket. Though putting it together was more like quilting with having to make sure all those spaces lined up. There was a couple of times where I ripped the whole rows back. I found pining the chains were the spaces were to each other really helped make sure those spaces lined up.

boyblanket6This was a relative quick project, much faster then the ripple. I whizzed through the squares and managed to finish the whole blanket in 2 weeks. There are 12 squares in total all joined through the back loops with right sides facing together.boyblanket1And I finally got to add a pom pom edging. This is something I have wanted to do for a while but I just haven’t had the right blanket come off the hook. This one was perfect for pom poms. It was practically screaming at me to sew a pom pom border on. My heart was jumping for joy at the finished look and I think I may need to make us a blanket with a pom pom edge, maybe something red. I have been given a report that the new baby loves his new blankie oh and mum and dad do too.

Love to all

xx

4 Comments

Filed under Crochet

4 responses to “A new baby blanket

  1. I love the pom pom edging!! It looks perfect. I have little bits of pom pom trim that I’ve been itching to use in crochet!

  2. This is stunning. The pom pom trim looks fantastic! I haven’t used this as an edging before but seeing how fantastic it looks I’ll definitely give it a try in future x

  3. Thanks heaps. The pompom edging was super easy too and lots of fun xx

your lovely thoughts are much loved xx

