A Giant Ta-dah that has been a long time in the making

  hexipuff finished 2

From Start to finish this blanket has taken 2 year and 4 days, Thats 24 months 4 days or 716 days. That is one hell of a long time for such a little project and in all reality it probably hibernated for half of the that time. Looking back over all these hexipuff episodes the last time I actually knitted a hexifpuff was July 2012. Which means for a whole year these little hexipuffs sat in a box in a bag just waiting to be joined together.

I started to join them together in March 2013 and got 2 rows done and put it away until yesterday I thought to hell with it they will be finished come rain hail or shine and I sewed all 22 rows together yesterday.

hexipuff finished 4

And now I have one Finished beekeepers quilt. I used 8ply yarn not sock yarn so my puffs are slightly bigger so I made less puffs I think there is about 200, though I did have some puffs let over at the end of sewing them all together and I thought about making some more and adding another row. But truth be told I could not face knitting another one of these little puffs. I want to like this blanket. I really really do. I mean it took 2 years. Whether in that 2 years it was the actual knitting or the constant reminder that they were yet unfinished, I don’t know. But I’m not jumping for joy over these hexipuffs. I think the problem is that 2 years ago when I started this blanket I had no plan. It was just going to use up all my scraps (which it didn’t). Now 2 years later my colour choices have changed, I tend to head for more muted tones then over the top brights. While this blanket has some of those tones in there, many are just too bright for my liking.

IMG_5180

Though we have already been using the blanket, this morning B, little princess and I snuggled under it on the couch. And I do have to admit, it is super comfy and amazingly warm.  But it is long and skinny and rather heavy so I’m not sure how much use it will really get. For now it’s living with the rest of the blankets in our entrance way.

hexipuffs finished 3It has been a huge journey and I loved bringing you episodes in the early days of what the puffs had been up to. Santa was one of my favourite. He was such a good sport about the whole thing. Thank you Santa.

mosaic33d32eee6a96c1e32ef61bbd3ebc2fe0fc24eb15You can check out all those posts here for now I’m off to have coffee and watch some tele. For once I am without a project on the go so I shall be feeling a little lost

Love to all

xx

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Giant Ta-dah that has been a long time in the making

  1. May I ask how you joined your hexis together? I have made 268 so far and am considering crocheting them together, perhaps firstly joining them top and bottom into long strips and then joining the long sides. It is my intention that both sides of the quilt should look good so there is no wrong or right size.

    I am in Ravelry as Knellergal, I do need to update my hexi photos though as the basket I was using for storage is too small.

your lovely thoughts are much loved xx

