I made a quilt from start to finish

quilt 1

I love the idea of making quilts, but I can never carry out the whole process, normally I make a quilt top and then when it come to the idea of basting it all and quilting I give up and the quilt top stays unfinished. But this time I was determined to make a quilt.

quilt 4

quilt 2

The piecing was fine and went along really fast. Most of my seams match up too. I crawled around on the floor spreading the backing out taping and then pinning all those layers together. And then came the quilting, half way through quilting I said I would never machine quilt again.  I believe more then a few choice words were muttered to my sewing machine in the process. Next came the hand sewing of the binding and I fell in love with the whole quilt and what do you know but I already want to make another one and maybe, just maybe even machine quilt it. Who knows.

quilt 3

For now I am busy snuggling under my new quilt with all the kiddies looking at quilt patterns for the next project.

What are you crafting away at this weekend?

Love to all

xx

 

10 Comments

Filed under quilting

10 responses to “I made a quilt from start to finish

  1. Congratulations on a charming quilt finish. Now onto the next right?

  2. Well done you, quilting is not easy and can be so time consuming, looks great.

  3. Congrats. I love the pink and tan look. I have a couple of collections of fabric that I had ear marked for that. Maybe it will finally happen.

  4. Bec

    Love the fabric you’ve used, the quilt is beautiful!

  5. It’s lovely! – glad you’re already snuggling up under it :)

your lovely thoughts are much loved xx

