One a day progress . . .

I have been hexipuffing away, I have been telling Mr C all about it, my excitement, my desire to make so many that i can throw them in the air and put them on the floor and make hexipuff (snow) angels in them with the kiddies. I even made him watch this video . . . and than after making my 1st one I showed you  last Thursday it went down hill. . . the next one did not turn out it looked more like a rectangle, my excitment went down just a notch I was deternined to finish the project. I’m a finisher, I hate to get so excited and than not be able to produce it exactly like it is in my mind. So after a short lapse in the one a day I got back on the hook and started again, and I was off and hooking they were working out again and I was managing to get them down from 2.5 hours. Here’s my week of One a days

Day 1 Thursday – So I didn’t get one today 😦 well I got one but it looked more like a rectangle as mentioned and quickly went in the bin.

Day 2 Friday – I was still concentrating so hard on the pattern I didn’t change colours at the right time and because I carried the yarn around it ended up bigger than all the rest. Time – 2 1/2 hours again

Day 3 Saturday – I managed this hooky squishy hexipuff, this ones my fav, what looks like a dark red is actually a gorgeous pink but alas my photography is not that good that I can show you. Time – 2 hours

Day 4 Sunday – I found this yarn way down the bottom of the basket no idea what I bought it for but it’s perfect for a hexipuff. Time 1 hour


Day 5 Monday – This one is very squishy I think it has just the right amount of stuffing. They are improving as I go the shape is staying consistent now. Time 1 hour

I also started this one last night

Day 6 Tuesday/Today –  I was trying to put a heart into the front but I’m a little off I think it’s too long and skinny. Time – so far this has taken 2 hours already and I don’t even like it I’m very tempted to unravel it and start again. I think I’m not changing colour at the right time

And in all their hexipuff goodness my week of one a days. Besides the rocky start to the week I think I did ok, the time is down and they are all the same shape.

Hopefully I can get some pictures onto them but I’ve never done that before so it will just be a bit of experimenting at this stage. I’m not as excited as I was before I started this project, I’m just not getting that feeling. You know the one I’m talking about, that feeling you get as you hook through a row of granny stripe blanket, that feeling you get as you hook up a tea cozy, that warm fuzzy feeling crochet gives you inside as you make something beautiful. These little hexipuffs are not doing it for me they are in fact causing me more angst than excitement. I told Mr C my excitement was waining and he redetermined me to make the blanket he wants to sit under it especially after I made him watch the video lol. And that’s my one a day round up, I need to find a basket now to keep all my hexipuffs in. At the moment the kids are enjoying throwing them around our loungeroom.

Hope everyone’s having a great day and if you’ve joined in the Raverly Cal –  One Day good luck!



7 Comments

Filed under Crochet

7 responses to “One a day progress . . .

  1. They’re looking good – keep thinking to yourself how pretty and comfy your blanket will be when you’re done. 🙂

  2. They are looking fab,love the stripes and what a great idea adding the heart. Can’t wait to see it grow. Deb xxxx

  3. Oh they are looking very cute!

  4. They are lovely, but I know what you mean about not feeling the love. I tried both knitted and crochet hexipuffs and just couldn’t find the love for making them. Baby hexagons are a different story altogether!

  5. I think they’re looking really lovely and cute, but I get what you mean about not getting that feeling you get with other things, like the granny stripe! Maybe if you do a few more then try stitching them together so you can start to get an idea of how gorgeous they’re going to look as the actual quilt, you might get your enthusiasm back again!?

    I’ve been trying to resist the temptation to have a go at them and start yet another project, but I just made the mistake of watching that video and now I’m *desperate* to make them, lol!! 🙂

  6. Your hexipuffs look fantastic…they also look tricky to crochet. I can’t wait to see what you do with them all.

    xxh

  7. Somehow I missed this post. Well done on all of your hexis, I especially like the stripey ones. You have more patience than me I think, but your persistence will pay off with a lovely blanket at the end.

your lovely thoughts are much loved xx

