One a day Episode 3

So I am still determined to make a beekeepers quilt!! My week started out like this . .

2 hexipuffs made,

as you can see, I have not even bothered to stuff them.

I’m not happy with these “take forever hexipuffs”,

and they are not exciting and squishy like here

But than the wonderful Esme Rudy taught me to knit

First we started with a cast on

 

ok got that

“what are the other 2 needles for

WHAT?

I’m use to using one hook and you want me to put these stitches on 3 needles,”

What the?? I’m a crocheter this is the scariest looking thing,

But . . .

I did it woo hoo!!!

Oh look, we’re half way now going good

keep breathing

hard bits over

ย now I’m loving the clickty clack of the needles

increases are looking on the money

and now we start the decreases

and I think I found my favourite stitch

slip slip knit

doesn’t that just sound great

my mind sings as I make this stitch

I race down the needles just to get to

slip slip knit,

And whats this a finished hexipuff in less than 2 hours on my first knitting adventure

well move over crochet hexipuffs, there’s a new kid in town and it’s knitted hexipuffs

They are soft and squishy and I have hexipuff love

I also have knitting love

I am no longer just a crocheter

I can knit

I’m not sure if I can still use this for my One a day Cal,

Can I?

But I will definitely be making a beekeepers quilt now.

But you might ask

“What are you going to do with all those crocheted hexipuffs

totaling over 8 hours of loving crochet labour?”

Well don’t worry Little Princess loves them!

xx

26 Comments

Filed under craft, knitting

26 responses to “One a day Episode 3

  1. You are so crafty and creative.

    Love it to read all your lovely words and look at all your lovely pictures you share with us.

    Thank you sooooooo much for the award, it makes me happy.

    Many hugs,
    Annika

  2. Oh clever you! Well done! You must be a natural knitter. I remember trying to teach someone to use multiple needles once and it was hilarious. Even just plain knitting can be hard for some beginners so you should be very chuffed with yourself. I imagine the knitted hexi would be far softer than a crocheted one. And what lovely new toys! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Aaah I recognize this so much! I too am a crochet girl at heart. But since I saw the beekeepers quilt I want to learn to knit. I even have bought circular needles. But the intimidate me so much, I am used to my one safe hook. I already had a feeling they were made with three needles. I am not sure I will get to these little puffy thingies. I have still many projects to finish. Focus! hahahaha.

  4. What a thing to achieve with your first knitting try! Most people manage a holely scarf…well done you! Oh please put it in the one-a-day…then we can watch it grow :)x

  5. Congrats on learning to knit! I’m incredibly impressed that you learned on DPNs too, it took me a little while to build up to those!

  6. Last week I tried to knit a simple scarf with only two needles, it wasnยดt working at all. So, Iยดm deeply impressed by your knitting skills. Love your hexipuffs!
    Have a nice week! Barbina

  7. Go you! Well done on learning to knit. I have to say you could have picked an easier project to learn on than a hexipuff! Knitting with three needles isn’t the easiest thing so you’ve done so well ๐Ÿ™‚

    And a Beekeeper’s quilt is perfect for One a Day!

  8. awesome! They really do look so much more squishy when knit ๐Ÿ™‚ if the 3 needles didn’t scare me so much, I’d try it too

    Congrats on learning to knit!

  9. You clever thing! That’s pretty impressive you’ve got it sussed so quickly. I can knit a little but definitely not with three needles! I am really looking forward to watching your quilt grow.

  10. Wow,they look fab,well done on learning to knit and with THREE needles,impressive. Deb xxxx

  11. I have to say that I like the knit version of these better, so well done learning how to knit. I like to knit as well, but it takes me sooooo long! Can’t wait to see your progress!

  12. Kudos to you for doing this project!I did 5 puffs then gave up and stopped. Great job on learning knitting too!

    xx Marja (Noemie on Rav)

  13. Clever, clever you. How exciting!

  14. Ali

    Looking great!! Especially for a new knitter – well done ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Wow, that’s amazing that you’ve learnt to knit doing these! I’m daunted by the thought of learning to knit with just 2 needles, let alone 3, lol! Your new knitted hexipuffs look just beautiful! Definitely do these for your one a day project – I can’t wait to see more of them ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. I must admit the knitted ones do look much better than the crochet ones. There’s no reason why you can’t swap it over on the One A Day. There’s no rules! Happy you’ve discovered knitting. I have two crochet blankets on the go, but always need to find a bit of time to knit too ๐Ÿ™‚
    Kier x

  17. Absolutely BRILLIANT! There is nothing like a project you love to motivate you for a new skill (I learned to crochet to make a granny blanket).

    Fabulous. Can’t wait to see more!

  18. well done!! I havent braved that idea…I think I shall learn to crochet things first ๐Ÿ™‚ one craft at a time for me ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Definitely awesome! I love knitting even though I’ve just taught myself how to knit, and don’t have much time for it. Your first piece looks really great and you will become an knitting expert in next to no time for sure!
    Thank you so much for your well wish and kind words on my father’s health on my blog, that means a lot to me!
    Hope your day is always gorgeous!
    Lovestitch, xo

  20. Yay for knitting! You can definitly still be in one a day, it’s not just a cal it’s a kal too!

    i’ve never knitted like that, for your first go I’m dead impressed!!

  21. Pingback: The Cardigan that nearly ended my love affair with knitting | beberouge

  22. Congrats! It’s so funny, this sounds exactly like me–I tried the apiary puff but it just wasn’t “right”. I knew, somehow, I just *had* to knit. ๐Ÿ™‚ And now, I’m loving it.
    Have a great day,
    Grace Ann

  23. Which pattern is it that you are actually making?

    • Hi Kirsty I started off using the Apiary puff on ravelry and then switched to the knitted version and I am using the beekeepers quilt pattern can be found on ravelry too. xxx

  24. Pingback: Season Return Ep1 of The One a Day – Finally | beberouge

your lovely thoughts are much loved xx

