Baking and Reading

It’s school holidays down under and here we have been baking. B has been asking me for days now to make a cake and I kept saying on the holidays, so now they have arrived I thought I better stick to my word and bake a cake.
So out came my mums little cook book. My mum was a pastry chef and I was left all her recipes. B calls this little book  “Nana’s Secret’s” I think she would have loved that. I do!

And I’m going to share with you one of “Nana’s Secrets”. We loved this cake hope you do to.

Chocolate Fudge Cake

  • 125g butter
  • 1 Cup castor sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup cocoa
  • 1/2 cup hot water
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons white vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cup self-raising flour

Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celsius fan forced (180 not fan forced), Prepare a 20cm round cake pan, line base with baking paper and grease. Dissolve cocoa in hot water and let cool. Sift flour into bowl and set aside.

Cream butter and sugar in small bowl with electric mixer until light and fluffy

Add eggs one at a time beating well in between.

Gradually add cocoa to butter mixture, beating constantly

Fold in the milk, vinegar and sifted flour in 2 batches.

Spread mixture into prepared pan and bake for about 50 minutes, or until cooked when tested. Let cake stand in pan for 5 minutes, turn onto wire rack to cool and than you can decorate and frost as you like.

We used red icing. B loves red icing and always chooses red, must take after his mum.

And of course eat!!

Now I’m going to enjoy mine with a coffee and a good book. I haven’t been reading much lately and I love to read you may remember my bookcase from my first post, well the other day I came across this Fall into Reading 2011. Being down under it’s actually spring here but hey I will still join in the fall read along. This has come at such a great time as I really needed some motivation to get back into reading

So before December I am going to try and get these novels read

‘Frost Bite’  – Richelle Mead,

Which I’m reading right now and indluges my not so secret anymore love of trashy vampire novels. I’ve also read this whole series before and am re-reading.

‘Maestro’ – Peter Goldsworthy,

This is an Australian Author who has sets his book in the Australian city Darwin looking forward to it, comes with a recommendation from Duchess (my sister) as she studied this for her VCE.

‘A farewell to Arms’ – Ernst Hemingway,

This has been on my shelves for ages and I keep picking up but as yet have not even read the blurb, I’m abit nervous about this one I have not heard good things but it is a classic and must be a classic for a reason so I will give it a go.

‘Shadow Kiss’ -Richelle Mead,

Yep another Trashy Vmapire novel and yes I have read this too, but I just know I will want more vampire trash after I finish ‘Frostbite’ especially now Trueblood the tv show has finished (anyone else love that show?)

Well this will be my list I know it’s short but I have so many crafty projects I want to finish by December and I am wonderful and over extending myself so I’m keeping it short to keep the pressure off. Wish me luck I’ve got my fingers crossed I will get all of these done. If your like me and love to read but just don’t find the time join up the Fall Into Reading 2011 and read along with us.

I’m off to clean up the house for craft group tomorrow but I just wanted to leave you with this

the boys playing DS, there is 2 huge couches on the other side of the room, 🙂

Hope your all well

xx

9 Comments

Filed under homeloving, Reading

9 responses to “Baking and Reading

  1. That cake looks divine! Happy reading to youl. The first week of holidays has slipped by quickly hasn’t it? Love that shot of the kids snuggled up together. Mine rarely do that these days as they are htting the teen years.

  2. OMG!!!!
    Your cake is stunning…I am actually drolling a litytle as I type 😀

    xxh

  3. Yum that cake looks good, you know I don’t think I have ever had red icing. And I love that they are in their PJs ;0)

  4. Your cake looks scrummy, I love to bake, but can’t say it does my intended diet any good! I just can’t read, in fact I have a load of my face types of mags which I have subscriptions for and I haven’t read them for months……must get to it but too busy striping!

  5. Glad you liked your bunting…I love trashy Vampire novels too! Im reading the Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning…not so much vampire but Fae in this one ….its awesome.

  6. Lol this gets my cravings going crazy lol tehe chocolate nom nom xoxo

  7. Pingback: Screeching halt | beberouge

  8. Pingback: Fall into Reading update | beberouge

  9. Pingback: Fall into Reading 2011 – Wrap Up | beberouge

your lovely thoughts are much loved xx

