I’m a little tea pot

Short and pretty,

I managed to make a beautiful cover for the tea pot as promised,

My hooky mojo had not quiet returned but as this was a birthday present for my other sister Aurora I needed to get it finished. I was rather naughty with this present, her birthday was in August. Oh my goodness I hear you gasp, she did know she was getting something and I did keep telling her it was coming. What makes the lateness of this present even worse is that I had my birthday in between hers and the giving of this present. But I  am glad to say that when she received it she was thrilled to bits and it has taken pride of place on the shelf.

I used the garden party pattern for the cosy but I did modify it slightly as my tea pot was larger. And I have to say being proud of myself would be an understatement, that I managed to knit this on 2 circular needles, having never even used one circular needle before, I will definitely be trying this again it was super quick and easy.

I love hooking though so the flowers and leaves were all hooked up. I couldn’t find a pattern that was simple and straight forward and quick so I just made it up as I went.

Also along the theme of tea my belle-mère gave me these lovely tea cups and plates, to celebrate our engagement.

These little tea cups belonged to her mother and have been handed down through generations. There was a lot of oohhh’s and aaahhh’s as I unwrapped each one of these divine little treasures. I absolutely love them and they are on display in my kitchen now, I can’t wait to use them. They are true vintage and she just knew that I would love them being the only one in the family that is vintage and retro inspired, she has even promised me the crystal cabinet as no one else will want it. lol.

I would also like to say a big thank-you to all the wonderful comments everyone leaves here, I do love reading them and I do try to get back to everyone. I love discovering new blogs to read through comments and I love keeping in touch with bloggy land friends. Also a big thank-you to everyone for the congratulations on our engagement.

xx

Linking up here

and

21 Comments

Filed under Crochet, family, knitting

21 responses to “I’m a little tea pot

  1. That tea cosy is adorable! I would be very happy too to wait for that, lovely 🙂

  2. I love your tea cozy. The roses are just stunning. I’m so impressed with your work! And then you bring out your china and I’m over the moon.
    Tea time will be a real treat at your table.

  3. Love that tea cosy! How gorgeous!

  4. What a great tea pot, you are right to be very proud of it- well worth the wait!

  5. it’s so beautiful, wow!

  6. How pretty is that! I am not a great tea drinker, but this might get me started, just so I can display such a nice cosy.
    KATRIN W.

  7. How pretty and I love the flowers on top. Your new tea set is lovely too.

  8. Very, very pretty – I love it. 🙂

  9. Those are the perfect teacups & saucers to remember your engagement by 🙂 How adorable!
    xo,
    wink

  10. what a great and beautiful tea-cosy, i love it!

  11. Hello!,
    Thanks for your comments on my blog. I’ve been visiting yours lately and I simply love the things you do. I have a couple of small teapots and it’s about time I start hooking some cozies for them…
    Keep hooking!

  12. What a beautiful Tea Cosie with roses. Kind regards from Roos.

  13. isa

    Hoola!! gracias por tus palabras en mi blog, he visitado el tuyo y me gustan muchos tus trabalos, la tetera es impresionante, me encanta!! tiene mucho mérito
    un abrazo desde España!

  14. Hi hon, thanks so much for visiting me so I could in turn get to discover your lovely blog!! I adore your tea cosy – it’s so fab. I am just about to make a nice big cuppa and read through your gorgeous posts. But before I do – CONGRATULATIONS!!! I just got to the weekend away post and boy is that one heck of a stunning ring!! I wish I could find things like that it my popcorn! Have a fab week hon. Leah x

  15. hey – thanks for your comments on my blog (and entering my giveaway!)
    nice to meet you. I too learned how to crochet almost a year ago…and have only managed one blanket so far! Unfortunatly I have little time and a frustratingly short attention span (and other jobs!) but i still love it when the mood takes me.
    That tea cosy is a thing of beauty!
    fee

  16. Gorgeous tea cosy! I made the Rosy Posy tea cosy for my Gran and my Grandma last Christmas, and this summer my husband bought me a book of Loani’s patterns – fab, Judy xx and thanks for your comments on my blog too x

  17. I like your flower tea cosie so much!

    Greetings Petra

  18. Beautiful teapot cosy 🙂

  19. Lea

    WOW that is one spectacular teacosy. Gorgeous!

  20. Rie

    OMG… I love that teapot cosy, it’s adorable! Fantastic gift!
    Congratulations on your engagement too!!

your lovely thoughts are much loved xx

