Finally the Cardigan is here

The Baby Cardigan that took seven attempts to get the pattern right is here. My baby brain finally realised that I was Yarn Forward and K1 at the same time so on a repeat of 8 stitches I was actually working 10

Hence the cardigan was never going to work and my first 6 attempts were in complete and utter vain.

But I did it, this is the first cardigan I have ever knitted. Actually this is the first piece of clothing besides a scarf I have ever made with yarn crochet or knitted.

I have always been terrified of trying to knit or crochet an item of clothing all that sewing up just scares the bejesus out of me.

And than there’s the kniting patterns, what in the world do the say

and whats this about tension

Oh god quick put it in the too hard basket

quick before your brain explodes

But in actuall fact this cardigan was a breeze to make (that is after I realised why it wasn’t working the first 6 times)

It has a lovely lacy pattern down the bottom and across the arms as well

When you work this pattern right it is very simple and quick.

The pattern is from Cool Knits for Kids and you can find it here

It’s a great book with lots of other things I would love to try.

I loved this pattern for all it’s gorgeous deatil it fastens on the inside with a button and than does up with a pretty little bow on the side

The cardigan is meant to all be one colour but I ran out of wool

and as this wool was an op shop find I couldn’t find any the same so I used contrasting purple

I like the result it works with the pretty ribbon

What do you think?

This cardigan has already been given to the mother to be

and i think she loved it lots

though I now have 3 weeks to knit another one

as this baby is not alone

she’s having twins

so I’m off now to cast on a beautiful duffle coat

wish me luck

I’ll have my fingers crossed.

Hope you all are enjoying some sun

we have been having a touch of spring here it’s been lovely

xx

15 Comments

Filed under knitting

15 responses to “Finally the Cardigan is here

  1. It’s lovely – the mum to be will be thrilled! I totally here you on having to frog all that hard work. I’ve got a cardigan for my daughter that I don’t know how many times I ripped it up (due to my own short attention span, not the pattern). It’s almost finished but for the end of the sleeve. Try Tikki’s knits (http://tikkifabricaddict.blogspot.com/) if you don’t like seaming up garments. Most if not all of hers don’t require seaming. Good luck with the next project.

  2. It is absolutely beautiful.

  3. That is gorgeous, I I love the different colour trim.. sometimes these hiccups work out for the best πŸ™‚

  4. sewsurprising

    What a wonderful job you have done πŸ™‚ love the colours and ribbon you used…Hesitation = Excitement When Achieved!!!!

  5. Yeah! It turned out beautiful. And the contrasting band works so well. Well done you on your very first knitted garment. Before you know it you’ll be designing your own. Can’t wait to see your next project tomorrow at Brown Owls πŸ™‚

  6. Its gorgeous! I bet there will be no stopping you now, you will soon be churning out garments! Well done! I love the contrasting colour it finishes it off beautifully. πŸ™‚

  7. Oh my goodness! It’s too cute for words! Hope your next baby project knits up quickly! πŸ™‚ I so badly need to get the sticks out again… and I only just put them away! LOL

  8. I love the color and the detail, that bow is just gorgeous… Even though it took so many attempts it’s so worth it!

  9. The cardigan is beautiful, and I think the different colour on the trim really shows the details. Oh and that bow is so cute.
    Can’t believe that it’s your first garment, well done!

  10. Clever old you! You did a brilliant job! I love the detail along the cuffs and bottom, really pretty, and the contrast colour is perfect….I say give yourself a big pat on the back!

  11. Thanks very much for stopping by my blog, I’m so glad you did. Love your little cardigan, it’s gorgeous!

  12. Pingback: The Cardigan that nearly ended my love affair with knitting | beberouge

  13. Pingback: The Cardigan that nearly ended my love affair with knitting … | Knitting

your lovely thoughts are much loved xx

