Christmas is here

This year Christmas is bittersweet for my family, we are blessed to have many wonderful gifts of life to look forward to.  We have trimmed our Christmas tree while listening to Frank Sinatra’s Christmas album.  B’s eyes lit up as he put baubles on our tree and little princess tried to pull them off, Mr C placed the star on top to finish off the trimming.

Christmas lunch is planned with one family next weekend and we also have more family for Christmas lunch on Christmas day.  Food and good company with loved ones.  Family together cousins, aunts, uncles and grandparents.

Baking will be done for friends and mulled cider will be made for us. Shopping will be done for all and we will do all our little family traditions one being

The Myer Windows

For as long as I can remember my family has been going to see the Myer Windows every Christmas. When I was just a little girl it was with mum and dad and my 2 sisters, than it became just us 4 girls mum, my 2 sisters and me, over the years the number who take part in this family tradition has grown, boyfriends have joined becoming family along the way, children have been born and added to the ranks.

And with the growth of family has been the growth of a tradition which has grown in our hearts and in size. What started with just seeing the windows now has become the windows dinner and a horse and carriage ride. The horse and carriage ride even has it’s own little tradition that one of us girls (me, Aurora and duchess) get to chose which carriage we will ride in.

Going to the Myer Windows is our family tradition, it signals the beginning of the holiday seasons for me, it symbolizes family and love. It is a tradition I want to pass onto my children. I hope that we are still doing this when they have their own children, I hope they enjoy it for as many years as I have plus many more.

But as I said this Christmas is bittersweet for my family, we have so many wonderful things to be grateful for, though there is a slight sadness in all our plans because this will be our first Christmas without our mother who passed away in March of this year.  But we will carry on her traditions she started and we will make her proud and show her how much we loved her by being together and happy.  We will shower her grandchildren in love just how she would of wanted, I will make sure Duchess has chicken not turkey for Christmas lunch, we will put on the funny bon bon hats and read the jokes and we will share love and laughter and hey maybe a tear for a wonderful lady who loved Christmas but most of all loved being with family.

xx

1 Comment

Filed under family

One response to “Christmas is here

  1. Thanks for sharing your family traditions, I’m so sorry about your Mum, I’m sure she will be watching down over you all this Christmas. Jx

your lovely thoughts are much loved xx

