The Cardigan that nearly ended my love affair with knitting

The Cardigan that I have been knitting and complaining about is finally done. Thank goodness it is finished is all I can say. This was not the fun relaxing knitting experience i have had with my hexipuffs and this previous cardi. If you are new around here you will not know that I only learned to knit back here because I was dying to be able to make a beekeepers quilt, well I’m still going with my beekeepers quilt still loving knitting little hexipuffs, but this cardigan was a drag.

Now I’m new to knitting and of course fell in love with the baby in the book (pattern is from Essential baby by Debbie Bliss), and I looked the pattern up on raverly to see what everyone else was saying about this gorgeous little coat and everyone was in love with it, raving about it. Some people were even knitting their second, so excitedly I cast on the first piece . . . well it was quick but by the end I was already over it and I had 2 front sides, 2 arms and a hood to go and silly me kept going. That darn cute baby in the book just kept smiling at me.

Now there is absolutely nothing wrong with the pattern, no hard to read bits, no errors, it was just so so boring. I mean it went knit knit knit knit, maybe do one increase ok now knit knit knit knit knit and than knit knit knit knit. Garter stitch I mean how much more boring can you get. Now I know all you experienced knitters out there are probably nodding along at how boring garter stitch is and probably having a good little giggle to yourself about my newbie response to knitting. But I just wanted this cardigan done with I took it everywhere with me

even to a roller skating party, that’s right a few knit rows in between laps anything to get it done. But the worse was when I finished the cardigan. I didn’t like it. I didn’t like it at all, and it sat there awaiting buttons for a good week. But the buttons didn’t jazz it up. I still didn’t like it. But than I had an ah huh moment and I added a pink crochet border and the whole thing popped and it was worth all that knit knit knit knit. I like it, I don’t love it and it wont be being cast on again but I do like it and I think it will be one very cute baby in this duffel coat. Lets see what you lovelies think . . .

here it is the take forever bore you to tears duffel coat

….

love you all and I better go make some hexipuffs I’m slowly becoming 2 weeks behind

aaaahhhhh

xx

P.S. I do know hexipuffs are knitted in garter in the round but they are just so much more fun and cute hehe

xx

10 Comments

Filed under knitting

10 responses to “The Cardigan that nearly ended my love affair with knitting

  1. I admire the fact that you finished when you weren’t feeling the love. It is cute and you did a good job. A lot of people I know don’t like making clothes. I love it though, great job.

  2. I hear ya baby! I have to admire your patience in actually finishing it and I have to thank you for this raving review. LMAO I am SO not going to make it now. I was going to. hehe! I have been looking at it on and off for ages. It does look awfully cute but yes awfully boring too. I know unlike you, I would not finish it.

    I like what you did with the border, it does make it look much nicer. I am sure it will look gorgeous with a baby in it. And now that you are finding the knit stitch “boring”, I think its time for you to make something a little more challenging. You are a natural knitter! Its just like crochet, once you learn the basic stitches you can make anything. πŸ˜‰

    Hugs xoxox

  3. It’s very cute – great work. πŸ™‚

  4. I love your cardi – congrats on pushing through and finishing it! I have several things that are “just not quite right” and they are all still sitting there :o(. You inspired me to start the beekeepers quilt. I just bought the pattern and some yarn. I hope to start in the new year.

  5. I think it’s adorable!! Good job sticking to it! I would love for you to share it at my linky party going on right now πŸ™‚ http://everything-underthemoon.blogspot.com/2011/12/bedazzle-me-monday-12.html

    Happy Holidays!!

  6. You did an amazing job, good for you for not giving up!

  7. I’m so glad that you persevere with the beautiful duffle coat. Love the darker pink trim for the edges – lucky baby. Also love all your other knit & crochet projects. Like you, I like hexagons esp the beekeeper hexis. I’ve got a loftful of Noro, Debbie Bliss, Manos etc yarns (http://www.yarnloft.co.uk) to choose from to start a hexagon project. I’m deciding whether to knit or crochet the hexis, maybe do both to use up yarns!!

  8. Brogan

    I love the coat I think its so amazing I was wondering if you would have the pattern would love my mum to knit one for my new baby

  9. patpointon

    Only just seen your post but I am still giggling….. πŸ˜‚ Its the sort of thing I knit whilst watching a good film! Love it with the crochet though. Pity I can’t crochet…..

your lovely thoughts are much loved xx

