My first Yarn Bombing Eperience

And what an experience it was.

As I have mentioned before I have been working on my first piece to use in a yarn bombing adventure. I had heard about yarn bombing and had always been a fan, I loved that someone took time out of there life to beautify ordinary things in their community.

A little while ago I found a group through Facebook called ‘Yarn Corner’ and saw that they were planning a big Yarn Bomb in the city and were putting it out there for yarny people to help out. I couldn’t have contained my excitement at the thought of contributing something to a big project. So with a click of the mouse I entered the wonderful world of yarn bombing and met some really lovely and extremely talented women.

The project was big!! It was going to take a lot of yarn, not to mention the organization that these girls put in to make it happen. The plan was to cover all 11 trees in City Square Melbourne a busy gathering place in the metropolis of Melbourne.

After a lot of hard work and a lot of planning (much that went on behind the scenes from us contributors and just seemed to magically happen :)) on Sunday around 20 women armed with a scissor lift and needle and thread converged on City Square and transformed a dull area into a brightly coloured yarny wonderland.

Unfortunately I couldn’t make the install day but I watched the Facebook page with enthusiasm as the girls started to up load photos.  The theme for this event was rainbow and was fully embraced by many a lovely lady.

Even though I didn’t get to go to the install day I was there the next day for the workshops that Yarn Corner had orgainised. The boys loved the learn to knit workshop and were even given a Knitting Nancy to keep and have been making pom pom after pom pom ever since.

After the boys had finished their workshop and run around excited at all the colours and not to mention the yarn bombed ducks that all the kiddies had a ball playing with, I stayed to help out with the crochet workshop. I absolutely loved  it. The Crochet workshop was packed to the brim, I worked with 3 beautiful students who were just a blessing as a 1st time teacher and were all really different skill levels but who all managed to grasp crochet. Plus they all enjoyed it! Which is the important bit about learning, right? I had a ball teaching the girls who came to the workshop and would have no hesitation in putting up my hand to help out in workshops again.

Joining Yarn Corner has been nothing but positive. On the Weekend I learned they started with 3 members and now have over 200 members worldwide. They are all a lovely group of gals. You are instantly made to feel like part of the group. I’ve already signed up for the next meet and the next yarn bomb project. The possibilities are endless now.

If you’ve ever wanted to yarn bomb but never knew where to start this would be the place. Just search for Yarn Corner under groups on Facebook, you’ll find them and never look back.

xx

11 Comments

Filed under Crochet

11 responses to “My first Yarn Bombing Eperience

  1. Yay Bebe! We’ve loved having you as a part of Yarn Corner and thanks for your help with the workshops – you were awesome! Oh and your kids are adorable! 🙂

  2. I love it, we should do that here.

  3. LOVE the little duck boats!

  4. That’s so cool. The trees look so much prettier with their sweaters on. 🙂

  5. Looks gorgeous and like so much fun!!!

  6. Very Cool! I would totally have been in if I did not live so far away! Sounds like lots of fun was had by all.

  7. Awesome Pics Bebe!!! ….. see you at the next meet 😀

  8. Looks like a really wonderful, positive experience!

  9. Pingback: This Week’s Crochet Link Love — Crochet Concupiscence

your lovely thoughts are much loved xx

